Workspaces

In Pigeonhole Live, a Workspace is where you build, organise, and manage your interactive Events and Presentations. You can have multiple Workspaces to organise different projects, teams, or clients independently. Arranging work in this way keeps your Pigeonholes, data, and access separate.


A Workspace with two active Pigeonholes and three sample Pigeonholes. 

Personal and Team spaces

There are two types of spaces within a Workspace:

  • Personal space: A private Workspace for drafts and personal projects.
  • Team space: A shared area where you collaborate with team members.

Navigating Workspaces

To switch to a different Workspace, use the Workspace drop-down menu in the top-left corner of the Dashboard.

A screenshot of the Workspace menu at the top left. The menu is expanded to show a total of two Workspaces.

The Workspace menu displays all Workspaces in your account, along with the total number of Pigeonholes in each.

For users with more than eight Workspaces, a search box displays in the top-left menu. Use this search box to find Workspaces by one or more keywords in the name.

Create a new Starter Workspace

If you're on a Starter, Presenter, or Standard plan, you can create unlimited new Starter (free) Workspaces. 

  1. Select the dropdown at the top-left corner of the Dashboard. This action opens the Workspace menu.
  2. Select the Add workspace icon (+) next to the header Workspaces.

    A screenshot of the expanded Workspaces menu. The Add workspace icon (+) is highlighted.
      
  3. In the dialog box that opens, enter the name you want to use for the Workspace and select Create workspace.


A screenshot of the Create new workspace dialog box showing the Workspace name field.

You automatically switch to your new Workspace after it is created.

Rename a Workspace

Modifying the name of a Workspace can help you find the Workspace you are looking for faster. A Workspace can only be renamed by its Lead or Owner.

Follow these steps to rename a Workspace:

  1. If you have more than one Workspace, make sure you are inside the Workspace you want to change.
  2. Under the name of the Workspace in the Workspace menu, select Workplace settings


    A screenshot of the expanded Workspace drop-down menu. The Workspace Settings link is highlighted.
      
  3. Select the General tab in the left sidebar of the Workspace Settings
  4. Edit the Workspace Name.
  5. Select Save.

    The General tab in Workspace Settings. The Workspace Name field is highlighted.

Delete a Workspace

Deleting unused or completed Workspaces keeps your dashboard clutter-free and ensures your team only interacts with active projects. By removing old Workspaces, you simplify navigation, protect data privacy, and make it easier to find the active Pigeonholes you need. 

You must be the Workspace Owner. A Workspace that contains One-time Pigeonholes or other paid items cannot be deleted. 

Important: Deleting a Workspace is a permanent, irreversible action. This step immediately removes all Pigeonholes, data, and user access.

Follow these steps to delete a Workspace: 

  1. If you have more than one Workspace, make sure you are inside the Workspace you want to change.
  2. Under the name of the Workspace in the Workspace menu, select Workplace settings
  3. Select the General tab in the left sidebar of the Workspace Settings
  4. Select Delete workspace.

    The General tab in Workspace Settings. The Delete workspace button is highlighted.
      
  5. Review the warning in the dialog box that opens. To confirm deletion, enter the name of the Workspace and select Delete workspace.


    A screenshot of the Delete workspace dialog box. It shows the warning about the information that will be deleted and the field for entering the name of the Workspace to confirm that you want to delete it.


The Workspace, all of its Pigeonholes, and all associated data are permanently deleted. You will automatically be redirected to another active Workspace or prompted to create a new one. Any other users currently in the Workspace will immediately receive a permissions error message and lose access. They will be moved to their most-recently-used Workspace. If they have no other Workspaces, they are prompted to create one.

Note: The Archive and Trash tabs display all archived or deleted Pigeonholes across your account. This includes content from both personal and team spaces.

Moving a Pigeonhole from your Personal space to a Team space

Transferring a Pigeonhole in a Personal space to a Team space lets you build and test it in a private environment first, then seamlessly move it over for collaboration when ready.

Important: Transferring a Pigeonhole from a Personal space to a Team space cannot be undone.

Follow these steps to transfer a Pigeonhole:

  1. From within the destination Workspace, select Add Pigeonhole > Transfer.

    A screenshot of the Add Pigeonhole menu. The Transfer option is highlighted.
      
  2. In the dialog box that opens, select the Workspace to transfer from. Then, select the Pigeonhole to transfer to the current Workspace.
  3. Select Transfer.
    The Transfer a Pigeonhole dialog box showing the menu for selecting a Pigeonhole to transfer.

    The Pigeonhole transfers and displays in the Team Workspace.

Update Workspace Settings 

A Workspace Owner or Lead can modify Workspace settings to provide greater control over the user experience.

If there is more than one Workspace, you must be inside the Workspace you want to change. Then, under the name of the Workspace in the Workspace menu, select Workplace settings


A screenshot of the expanded Workspace drop-down menu.

If you’re an Owner of a Team Workspace, you can access the General, Plan and billing, Pigeonhole Settings, Audit Logs, and Security areas. For details, see Workspace roles and access.