Understanding Test Mode

This article covers: 
  • What is Test Mode?
  • When can I use Test Mode? 
  • How do I switch Test Mode on/off?
  • Can I inform attendees of my Event Passcode while Test Mode is switched on? 

What is Test Mode?

Test Mode is a feature that allows you to take your Pigeonhole for a test run before your event begins. After you've set up your Pigeonhole, you can use Test Mode to: 

  • Experience your Pigeonhole from the attendee, organiser, and moderator's perspective
  • Get feedback from your team on the Pigeonhole you've set up
  • Train your onsite team to effectively implement and run Pigeonhole Live during the event

When can I use Test Mode?

You can use Test Mode as many times as you like anytime before the start of your first session.

When Test Mode is enabled, sessions become open and fully functional in a test environment. This allows you to test out your setup in its entirety. Every interface and interaction you experience in the test environment is an exact reflection of how your Pigeonhole will look and behave during your event.

Use Test Mode to proofread all the content that you have input and practice using the Projector, Moderator and Admin panel. You can also get your team to explore the Audience Web App and submit responses to test out the audience's perspective. 

Note: All responses or activity data captured during Test Mode is considered test data and will be removed once Test Mode is switched off. Test data will not be included in your Insights and PDF/Excel exports.

How do I switch on/off Test Mode?

Test Mode is switched off by default. 

You can switch Test Mode on and off by clicking on the switch-like toggle on the top right corner of the Pigeonhole page in your Workspace as shown below. 

Screenshot_2019-06-11_at_3.31.38_PM.png

 

When Test Mode is switched on, the Audience Web App and Panels will instantly reflect that it's in Test Mode. You will see a countdown to the automatic deactivation of Test Mode as shown below. 

testModeProjector.gif

Test Mode is scheduled to automatically switch off when the first session in your Pigeonhole starts. If the start time of the first session is edited, the Test Mode countdown will be updated accordingly. 

Note: We recommend that you switch Test Mode off when you have completed testing your Pigeonhole to indicate that you are all set for the event. 

What happens when my sessions go live while Test Mode is switched on?

If one or more sessions (interactive or non-interactive) goes live, Test Mode becomes automatically disabled, even if it was previously switched on. There is no way to re-enable Test Mode once any session in the Pigeonhole has started. This is to ensure that participant activity and engagement rates in your Pigeonhole are measured accurately right from the start of the sessions. 

Can I inform attendees of my Event Passcode while Test Mode is switched on? 

If you intend to send a pre-event message to attendees with the Pigeonhole Live Event Passcode, it is important that you switch off Test Mode prior to that. Make sure that you have completed all technical runs before sharing your Event Passcode with your attendees. 

If you are unable to complete tech runs before sending your pre-event message, we strongly suggest that you do not include the Event Passcode in any pre-event messaging. This is because any participant activity that is captured while Test Mode is switched on will be erased the moment Test Mode is switched off.