- Chat reactions
- Restricted Words
To access advanced Chat settings such as Mentions, Chat reactions, Clickable Links, Clickable Links Moderations, Restricted Words, go to More Settings> Chat on your Pigeonhole. Any of the following settings that you enable will apply to all chat sessions created in your Pigeonhole.
Mentions is disabled by default for all Chat sessions.
Note: If this setting is enabled, Hide Attendee Identities cannot be enabled and vice versa.
To enable Mentions, check the setting Allow attendee to mention each other in Chat using @name. Remember to save your settings once done.
When enabled, your attendees can mention each other by name in messages by using @name, to get their attention. Once the attendee types @ and the first 3 letters of the name they'd like to mention, a list of possible attendee profiles will appear in the drop-down for the attendee to select.
Attendees can only use the mentions feature for attendees that have created a profile with a name. This includes attendees who are currently inactive in the chat. However, the notification for a mention will only appear if the attendee who has been mentioned has not viewed the most recent message in the chat.
When an attendee updates their profile name, all associated mentions will be updated with the new profile name. Event admins can add or edit mentions in a message in the Admin Panel.
Mentions will not be included in the character count limit for messages. Attendees whose names have been mentioned in a message will receive a notification to scroll to the message, if they have not seen the message yet.
Chat reactions are enabled by default for all Chat sessions. Attendees can react to chat messages and replies with any emoji of their choice to quickly show acknowledgement in an easy and fun way.
Learn more about Chat reactions.
Clickable links is disabled by default for all Chat sessions in the Pigeonhole. To enable clickable links in messages and replies check the setting Enable clickable links in messages and replies and Save.
When this setting is enabled, links sent in messages and replies will be automatically converted to clickable links. Attendees who click on the link will be redirected to a new tab outside of the Audience Web App.
Please note that only the following link types will be converted to clickable links:
- scheme matches: URLs prefixed with a scheme, i.e. http://google.com, or other+scheme://google.com
- www matches: URLS prefixed with 'www.', i.e. www.google.com
- top level domain matches: URLs with known top level domains (.com, .net, etc.) that are not prefixed with a scheme or 'www.'. Ex: google.com, asdf.org/?page=1, etc
Note: Email addresses, phone numbers, hashtags, and mentions sent in messages and replies will not be converted into clickable links.
Moderation of clickable links
This setting is disabled by default. When clickable links is enabled, this setting will automatically be enabled too.
When this setting is enabled, messages and replies containing links will first appear on the Admin Panel for admin approval before it appears on the Audience Web App. If the message is Allowed, the message will appear on the Audience Web App and the link will be automatically converted into a clickable link. If the message is Dismissed, the message will not appear on the Audience Web App at all.
Note: You can enable moderation for messages containing links independently of moderation of messages in general. In other words, messages that do not contain a link will appear instantly on the Audience Web App without the need for moderation. Only messages containing a link will require moderation before it appears on the Audience Web App.
Restricted Words Filter is disabled by default for all Chat sessions in the Pigeonhole. When enabled, you will be able to set words you would like to restrict from the Chat. All messages and replies sent in the chat sessions containing the words you’ve listed will be automatically sent for moderation on the Admin Panel.
Moderation of messages containing restricted words works independently of moderation of messages in general. Even if Message Filtering is disabled, messages containing restricted words will automatically be sent for moderation if the setting Moderate messages containing restricted words is enabled. Attendees sending the message will be informed that their message is being moderated.
To enable this go to your Pigeonhole> More Settings. Under Restricted Words, check the setting Moderate messages containing restricted words.
Then, enter the list of words you would like to restrict from the chat sessions in your event and click Save. Each word should be separated by a comma. You'll need to add both the singular and plural forms of the word you want to block.
Here's a suggested list of restricted words (English only) that you can copy and paste into the restricted words filter for your Chat sessions.
How does the restricted words filter work?
- The filter is not case sensitive. Any variation of capitalisation of a word will still be recognised and filtered.
Eg. If you enter the word “Testing” for filtering, the following words will be filtered too: “Testing”, “tesTing”, “TESTING”
- If there’s a space within the word entered, it will not be filtered. However, if there’s a space before and after the word, it will still be filtered.
Eg. If you enter the word “Testing” for filtering, the following words will not be filtered: “Tes ting” “test ing “Testin g. However, “ Testing” and “Testing “ will be filtered.
- If the word you’ve entered is part of another word or link, it will be filtered.
Eg. If you enter the word “Testing” for filtering, the following words will be filtered too: “ Testing” “Testing “ “teSting” “Testingabc” “Abctesting” “www.testing.com”
- Usernames and associated mentions will also not be filtered even if it contains a restricted word.
Eg. If you enter the word “Testing” for filtering, the user name Testing and mentions @testing will not be filtered.
- Only exact word matches will be filtered.
Eg. If “app” is restricted, “apple” will not be filtered.**Restricted words filter will no longer support phrases.
Note: This setting is not retroactive. Messages sent before the restricted word filter was enabled will not be automatically sent for moderation. You will need to manually hide the messages using the Hide button on the Admin Panel.
Moderations of restricted words
When this setting is enabled, messages and replies containing the listed restricted words will first appear on the Pending tab in the Admin Panel for admin approval.
As the admin, you can Allow, Dismiss, or Edit the messages. If the message is Allowed, the message will be moved to the Allowed tab and appear on the Audience Web App. If the message is Dismissed, the message will be moved to the Dismissed tab and will not appear on the Audience Web App.
All messages containing restricted words will still appear in the Insights. They will appear as Pending, Allowed, or Dismissed, depending on how you have moderated the messages on the Admin Panel.