Applies for all plans except Enterprise. These changes will take effect from 7 Nov 2023.
In this article
- What is the Pigeonhole Live Data Deletion Policy?
- Putting a Pigeonhole in the Trash
- Recovering a Pigeonhole from the Trash
- Deleting Pigeonholes Permanently Manually
- Data Retention Period and Automatic Permanent Deletion
- Notification Email On Upcoming Pigeonholes to be Deleted
What is the Pigeonhole Live Data Deletion Policy?
Pigeonhole Live’s Data Deletion Policy aims to improve privacy for users by minimising the volume of personal data retained across our platform.
This is done through deleting all pigeonholes and their associated data from our platform after a fixed period.
What will be deleted?
All personal identifying information such as names and email addresses will be deleted, and only aggregated information will be retained for analytical purposes.
How does it work?
After a Pigeonhole's status becomes 'expired', it enters an active Data Retention Period. When the Data Retention Period ends, it becomes a Read-only Pigeonhole. Thereafter, the Pigeonhole and its associated data are then permanently removed from the platform.
What is the Data Retention Period?
This period begins when a Pigeonhole becomes Expired OR has been manually sent to the Trash. The amount of time depends on your Pigeonhole plan, detailed below. It is thus named as users can restore applicable pigeonholes from Trash.
What is the Read-only Period?
When a Pigeonhole has reached the end of its Data Retention Period, it becomes a Read-only Pigeonhole. Workspace users may still view and export the Pigeonhole’s insights. After 30 days of being a Read-only Pigeonhole, it will then be permanently deleted from the platform.
Putting a Pigeonhole in the Trash
A Pigeonhole can be manually moved to the trash page. To do so, click on the More Options button on the specific Pigeonhole and select Move to trash.
Moving a Pigeonhole to the trash page
Clicking on the Trash tab will then bring you to the trash to view the Pigeonholes there.
The trash page with a Recoverable Pigeonhole
Recovering a Pigeonhole from the Trash
When a Pigeonhole has a Recoverable status, the Pigeonhole will not be accessible by attendees via the Audience Web App and the workspace user will not not be able to modify the end date of the Pigeonhole; however, its insights can still be accessed and the Pigeonhole can be recovered back to its prior status and state.
To recover a Pigeonhole in the trash page, click on the More Options button on the specific Pigeonhole and select Recover Pigeonhole.
Recovering a Pigeonhole
Deleting Pigeonholes Permanently Manually
A Pigeonhole that is either Recoverable or Read-only can be manually deleted permanently by the workspace user. To do this, click on the More Options button on the specific Pigeonhole and select Delete forever.
A prompt will appear asking if you would like to delete the Pigeonhole permanently. Clicking Delete will then permanently delete the Pigeonhole.
Caution: Once deleted, a Pigeonhole cannot be recovered. Please ensure you are certain before proceeding with this action.
Prompt to permanently delete Pigeonhole in the trash
Data Retention Period and Automatic Permanent Deletion
Basic, One-time Engage and One-time Captivate Pigeonholes
The Data Retention Period for Basic, One-time Engage, and One-time Captivate Pigeonholes in a Personal Workspace is 60 days. After 60 days of being in the trash or expired, such a Pigeonhole will become a Read-only Pigeonhole. If not in the trash already, an expired Pigeonhole will be automatically moved to the trash when it becomes a Read-only Pigeonhole.
After an additional 30 days of being in the Read-only state, a Pigeonhole will be automatically deleted.
Pro, Business, Engage and Captivate Pigeonholes
The Data Retention Period for Pro, Business, Engage or Captivate Pigeonholes is 180 days. After 180 days of being in the trash or expired, such a Pigeonhole will become a Read-only Pigeonhole. If not in the trash already, an expired Pigeonhole will be automatically moved to the trash when it becomes a Read-only Pigeonhole.
Note: When a Pigeonhole recovers into the Expired state, the Data Retention Period continues to be active. If the Pigeonhole recovers into its previous non-expired state (e.g. New, Upcoming etc.), then the Data Retention Period resets and will be inactive until the next time the Pigeonhole is sent to the trash.
Notification Email On Upcoming Pigeonholes to be Deleted
Workspace owners will receive a monthly email notification on the first of every month informing them of Pigeonholes that will be automatically deleted in the next 45 days. This is designed to give the workspace owners ample time to recover any Pigeonholes or export their insights if required.